Mikinak

 

Welcome to the Mikinak Web site where teachers can learn more about the
realities of First Nations students.

Mikinak was developed for elementary school teachers in Quebec; particularly for non-Aboriginal teachers working with First Nations students in order to help them provide better support for their students by educating these teachers on their students’ cultures, realities and learning styles.

Mikinak is a combination of teaching material and learning activities. The suggested activities explore the realities of First Nations children, and make learning the elementary-level competencies included in the MELS curriculum fun for students.

Included is an inventory of educational resources and documents available in Quebec on the subject of First Nations education. Note that not all documents are available in both French and English. The site is home to reference documents, information on available training, articles and studies conducted by education practitioners, organizations and researchers, several projects and resources related to First Nations education, and lastly, links to other Web sites providing additional information on the subject.

Click on the following link to access your: Mikinak Teacher Awareness Guide.
We hope you will find what you are looking for… happy reading!

cover_engForm more information about Mikinak contact
First Nations Education Council
418-842-7672

Mikinak

 

Bienvenue sur le site Internet de Mikinak, l’outil de sensibilisation aux réalités
des élèves des Premières Nations

L’outil de sensibilisation Mikinak a été élaboré à l’intention des enseignants du primaire du réseau québécois, plus particulièrement pour les enseignants non autochtones qui travaillent auprès des élèves des Premières Nations, afin de les familiariser davantage avec la culture, la réalité et les styles d’apprentissage de ces derniers dans le but de mieux les soutenir et les encadrer.

Mikinak se veut aussi didactique que pratique. Ses activités portent, d’une part, sur la compréhension des réalités vécues par les enfants des Premières Nations et, d’autre part, sur des moyens ludiques d’apprendre en classe les compétences ciblées par le programme éducatif du MELS et enseignées au primaire.

Vous trouverez ici un inventaire des outils et des documents offerts au Québec sur le sujet de l’éducation des Premières Nations. Certains documents sont publiés uniquement en anglais. Le site contient des documents de référence, de l’information sur les formations offertes, des articles et des études menées par des intervenants, des organismes ou des chercheurs du milieu, plusieurs ressources relatives à l’éducation des Premières Nations et, enfin, des liens qui vous dirigeront vers des sites Web renfermant de l’information pertinente sur le sujet.

De plus, si vous cliquez sur le lien suivant, vous aurez accès à votre : Guide de sensibilisation Mikinak.
Nous vous souhaitons de trouver ce que vous cherchez… Bonne lecture!

Guide MikinakPour plus d’information sur Mikinak contactez
Le Conseil en Éducation des Premières Nations
418-842-7672